Meet Alexandria Jones, Future Dental Therapist from the Coquille Indian Tribe

Jones - CoquilleAlexandria Jones, Coquille Indian Tribe

I am 24 years old and I am from beautiful Southern Oregon. I have been a dental assistant for 2 years. I have a 7 year old daughter, Audrina. I come from a large family and spend a majority of my time with them. I also enjoy camping, hiking and snowboarding.

Growing up I did not have access to regular dental care. I know firsthand what it is like to not have preventive dental care. Therefore, I feel very passionately about being able to help others who have limited accessto regular dental care. I think the DHAT program has the unique potential to fill a tremendous need in underserved communities such as mine. I would like to help adults and children have regular dental care, and avoid future dental problems.

I work with an amazing dentist currently, Dr. Jennifer Callans. She has trained me since I graduated dental assisting school. Since I told her I was accepted to the DHAT program she has been teaching me more about different methods for fillings, extractions and other dental procedures. I feel extremely prepared and confident thanks to my amazing mentor.

I feel privileged and honored to be able to give back to my community. I will be one of the very first DHATs in my Tribal Region. There is an overwhelming need for dental care in Native American populations. There are many people who experience pain and suffering that could be avoided with preventive and proactive dental care. I believe the DHAT program will be a great help to many people and I am so excited to be part of it.

Alexandria’s story was originally published by the Northwest Portland Area Indian Health Board. Click on the link below to learn more:

http://www.npaihb.org/download/authoring_project/native_dental_therapy_initiative/newsletterjune-2016.pdf

Leave a Reply

